Threads of Conversation
Threads of Conversation
A Thread about Lyas
0:00
-47:58

A Thread about Lyas

An unfiltered conversation with TikTok's favourite fashion critic

Welcome back to another episode of the Threads of Conversation podcast! Today my guest is TikTok sensation Lyas. He’s a French creator based in Paris, beloved for his vivid runway reviews, witty personality and deep knowledge of fashion. Over the past couple of years, he’s become one of the most exciting new guard of fashion critics. His point of view is honest, funny and refreshing, and he’s unafraid to say exactly what he thinks - even about the industry’s most powerful names (as you’ll hear in this episode).

Lyas is also a roaming fashion week reporter, and has interviewed everyone from Rihanna, to John Galliano, to the enigmatic underground designer Betsy Johnson, disarming them with his spontaneous questions and irreverent attitude. (One note - when you hear us mention ‘Mel’, that’s Mel Ottenberg, previously Rihanna’s stylist and currently the editor-in-chief of Interview magazine.)

In this episode, we discuss Lyas’ roots in theatre, and how this lent him his unique storytelling style, social media strategy, the Cannes Film Festival, Flat Earth theory and more…

As always, you’ll find pictures of Lyas’ chosen pieces below, so you can follow along whilst you listen. By the way - if you’re reading this in your email inbox, I suggest getting the Substack app. Not a plug, the experience is just way better.

And of course, don’t forget to subscribe for more podcasts, essays and interviews, and leave a comment to let me know who you want to hear from next! You can also listen to the show on Apple Podcasts and Spotify, and follow Threads of Conversation on Instagram and TikTok.


The piece that reminds Lyas of his childhood…

“I've chosen this Fedora hat that I used to be obsessed with. This was just after Michael Jackson's death. I was familiar with him, but I got obsessed with him after his death. I used to go to school in a full Michael Jackson cosplay outfit, which included this fedora hat that I bought at this store in France called ‘Kiabi’. It was a very cheap hat, but it made me feel like a superstar. Everyone would mock me at school.”

The piece that reminds Lyas of his career…

“I’ve chosen these incredible Palomo Spain knuckledusters - but these ones are golden roses as the knuckles. It was a piece of jewellery that was in their show last September, which was the first show I was invited to in New York. After the show, Alejandro Palomo, the creative director, texted me because I’d done a review quite quickly. He gave me the knuckles as a present for the review I did. I thought that was just so nice, and I told myself I’ll keep them forever.”

The piece that reminds Lyas of a high…

“My Cannes Saint Laurent tuxedo. Cannes is a 12-day hangover. But the best kind. You rot in the sun during the day and sparkle under the moonlight at night. The most magnificent experience.”

And one that reminds him of a low…

“It was the first day of ‘sixième’, and when we were shopping for the first day of school, my mom and I went to this mall. There was this store called called ‘Cool Cat’ and they had this big yellow smiley face t-shirt - very Jeremy Scott, actually. It was a horrible, cheap fabric but it was just stunning. It was very bright and a bit bold for the first day of school, but I wore it and I was like, ‘You know what? I'm going to show everyone my fashion sense, that I'm a cool cat.’”

The piece that makes him feel part of something…

“I’ve chosen a Mowalola cap because I think it's just so subtle, but it's an iconic piece that every young designer wishes to have. One staple piece that’s going to bring people into the brand. And this Mowalola hat has this sense of community. I really love Mowaola I think she's doing incredible job. Also she doesn't want to show on schedule, she doesn't care if she misses a few seasons she just wants what's best for her brand. I just love her.”

The piece that reminds him of a great party…

“Every time I go party, I wear either a tank top or t-shirt. It's usually white so the sweat can show. The next day it’s always soaked in sweat and cigarette smells and has beer spilled on it. And I think that's reminiscent of a wild night out - the t-shirt always brings the smells of the party back to life when you wake up the next morning.”

The piece that makes him feel sexy…

“I’ve chosen anything Saint Laurent - and I'm not paid to talk about them! I just love Saint Laurent, how it makes me feel. They sent me clothes because they invited me to the woman show, and it was the first time ever I wore Saint Laurent. Which was a motherf*cking gag first of all! I was invited to Saint Laurent - the height of my career. I went with this beautiful hooded look. At the afterparty I spoke to Anthony Vaccarello, and was like, ‘Anthony, I have to tell you, I've never felt more confident and sexy than in your clothes.’”

The one that got away…

“So I went to Galeries Lafayette in Paris with my friend - that's when I still lived in Rouen. I went and I tried this Vetements jacket on and I was like, ‘This is the bomber of my dreams.’ But it was like 1,800 euros, impossible for me. So I went online for a month and looked through Grailed to see if people were selling it. And one day, this guy sold it for 300 euros… And the jacket was a fake! But this year, when I finally made a little money and saved enough, I bought the real one. Now I have it, and I'll keep it forever.”

Other things we mention during the episode:

Lyas’ early ‘fashion roulette’ videos

Lyas’ character videos for GQ: Balenciaga, Rick Owens, Jacquemus, Isabel Marant, Ludovic de Saint Sernin

My (trolled) V Files ‘Model of the week’ video

Lady Gaga’s 2D Comme des Garçons dress


Threads of the week

Bold to air a bikini shot on here but it was my birthday on Friday so I went to the beach. The towel is from Total Luxury Spa, cap is Denim Tears, body chain is a bday present from my fave Santangelo and the bikini is from Lido (who I made a funny video for during lockdown).

Loose Threads

Speaking of my birthday, did you take my survey yet?

Michaela Coel is on the cover of Riccardo Tisci’s guest edition of Boy Brother Friend magazine.

The Olympics are coming… c’est dingue

The only cybertruck owner in Maine has accidentally become a local celebrity, lol.

The New York Times released a list of the 100 ‘best’ books of the 21st Century. I felt like this was mostly about inciting discussion, but I can’t resist a little *discourse, so ofc I ate it right up. (I’m currently reading ‘The Flamethrowers’ by Rachel Kushner, which is number 56. I also loved ‘Stay True’ by Hua Hsu and ‘Detransition Baby’ by Torrey Peters).

Start your own Thread

Add your thoughts in the comments, and let me know whose Threads of Conversation you want to hear next!

Discussion about this podcast

Threads of Conversation
Threads of Conversation
What do your clothes say about you? In Threads of Conversation, host Georgia Graham asks guests to talk through eight pieces which represent pivotal moments in their life and career. Whether that's one piece that reminds you of your childhood, a great party or the one that got away, this show unravels the stories we tell through style.