Threads of Conversation
Threads of Conversation
A Thread about Lauren Sherman
0:00
-44:55

A Thread about Lauren Sherman

The straight-shooting reporter is one of the fashion industry's most trusted journalists. Here, she tells us her story via 8 items of clothing.

In this episode, I interview Lauren Sherman, one of the fashion industry’s most respected journalists. Lauren cut her teeth at Forbes, before moving on to publications such as Fashionista.com, Lucky magazine, and Business of Fashion, where she spent seven years as one of their chief correspondents. A few months ago, Lauren announced her departure from Business of Fashion, joining the newsletter platform Puck as their first fashion writer. Lauren now publishes a weekly Puck newsletter, Line Sheet, a mixture of industry analysis and piping hot tea. As a journalist, her beat is explaining how the business works - who is spending money where, and what it all means. She’s one of my favourite fashion writers and I continue to learn so much from her work. Whether you work in fashion or simply enjoy getting dressed, I can guarantee you’ll learn something from her too.

Subscribe to the podcast and listen to past episodes on Apple Podcasts or Spotify.

On the piece that reminds her of her childhood: “I was very into the peak-Mickey Drexler era of Gap — say 1998, 1999 — as a teenager. The “Mellow Yellow” commercial was the basis of my entire wardrobe, and not much has changed. A couple of years ago, I really wanted a pair of low-rise greige corduroys, but instead of trying to find new ones I just bought an old Gap pair on Poshmark. They're perfect, and I still wear them with New Balance sneakers and Birkenstocks, just like I did in high school.”

Lauren at home in her Gap cords.
The Bag.

The piece that reminds Lauren of her career: I bought my Chanel bag in SoHo after a Bloody Mary-fuelled brunch down the street at Boqueria in 2010. (Maybe my last brunch ever?) It was my reward for landing a job at Fashionista. It cost something like $2,200 or $2,500, which I couldn't afford. (Now, the same style is around $8,000 on resale sites!) It really was my dream to live in NY, be a fashion editor, and own a Chanel bag, so I felt very much like I’d made it. I still use it!”

A style from Band of Outsiders’ pre-Fall 2012 collection.

The piece that reminds Lauren of a high? “A double-breasted navy blazer bought at a Band of Outsiders sample sale in their old space on the Lower East Side circa 2012. I was able to skirt the line with my friend Sid (aka. Siduations) and it was such a satisfying purchase. It wasn't some seminal moment in my life - just a fun day.”

Look hard and ye shall find: Lauren wears Loewe Spring 2021 dress, found secondhand on The RealReal.

On the piece that reminds her of a great party: “Chantal Fernandez, my former colleague at Business of Fashion and the co-author of a book I'm writing about Victoria’s Secret, was one of those poor souls whose wedding was postponed at least once because of the pandemic. I had dreamed of wearing a particular dress from Loewe with giant white duchess satin sleeves, but it was very expensive and seemingly sold out in my size. Luckily, by the time the wedding actually happened, I found it on The RealReal for a quarter of the price, with tags! It also felt great to wear it to Chantal’s wedding because her mom is Spanish, and Loewe is that country’s greatest fashion house.”

Lauren out and about in her Puck cap.

For the piece that makes her feel a part of something, Lauren chose her red Puck cap. “First of all, I love the hat. It’s very good merch - and I wouldn’t wear it if it wasn’t! I do feel like a little bit of a company man, but it’s really nice!”

Lauren in her gold Sherman Field necklace.

“The piece that makes me feel sexy? Ah, this one is hard for me! Most compliments I've gotten over the years are along the lines of this: I look the best when I'm dressed down, in a hoodie with my hair pulled into a bun. But when do I feel it? I guess the gold Sherman Field chain that my husband got me for our 10-year anniversary does the job. I do just feel confident and comfortable when I wear it, and that's what sexy is, right?”

Threads of the week

Visited California and spent most of the time by the pool in my favourite Lido bikini. Instead of a gratuitous swimwear selfie, here’s a pic of the other outfit I wore frequently on my trip. I got this dress in a market in Hong Kong for about 10 dollars about 10 years ago and I still wear it every summer. This photo was taken at midnight the night before my flight during a last-minute packing panic.

Loose Threads

Speaking of Business of Fashion, I really enjoyed this podcast episode with Alec Leach, author of ‘The World Is On Fire But We’re Still Buying Shoes’. He discusses how we can swap one night stand purchases for long term love.

On the topic of secondhand shopping, NEVERWORNS’ Liana Ava on masterminding ‘The Sale of The Century’ ie. the sale of hundreds of pieces from Chloe Sevigny, Lyn Yaeger and Sally Singer’s closets. Chloe herself was on hand to tell people where she’d worn things and what made them so special.

I’m looking forward to Campbell Addy’s new exhibition.

Start your own Thread

Add your thoughts in the comments, and let me know which Threads of Conversation you want to hear about next!

Leave a comment


Sharing is caring. Send these Threads of Conversation to a friend and subscribe for all the latest. You can also catch up on the podcast on Spotify or Apple Podcasts - if you like it, then pls leave a (5 star) rating!

0 Comments
Threads of Conversation
Threads of Conversation
What do your clothes say about you? In Threads of Conversation, host Georgia Graham asks guests to talk through eight pieces which represent pivotal moments in their life and career. Whether that's one piece that reminds you of your childhood, a great party or the one that got away, this show unravels the stories we tell through style.